State Coalitions Network

Community Schools State Coalitions Network

Purpose: The purpose of state coalitions is to provide a means for local and state community schools stakeholders to connect, deepen their knowledge and skills, and advocate for supportive policies at the state level.

State coalitions are especially important given the continued growth of local initiatives, the devolution of power to states through the Every Student Succeeds Act, and the rising interest from Governors and state legislators for community schools. State coalitions focus on four strategies: 1) stakeholder engagement; 2) policy/advocacy; 3) professional learning; and 4) communications/messaging.

Coalition are emerging in approximately 15 states. A list of emerging state coalitions, their lead organizations and contacts are below. Emerging state coalitions include: CA, IL, IN, MD, MI, MN, NJ, NM, NY, OK, Pacific Northwest (OR and WA), PA, TN, TX, WI.

State Coalitions Network Goals:

  • Serve as a learning community for leaders of state community school coalitions.
  • Inform Coalition staff of the needs, challenges and opportunities in their states.

Interested in Joining the Network? To inquire about joining, contact Mary Kingston Roche at rochem@iel.org.

State

Lead Organization(s)

Contact

Email

CA

Partnership for Children and Youth

Deanna Niebuhr

deanna@partnerforchildren.org

IL

Federation for Community Schools

Melissa Mitchell

Melissa@ilcommunityschools.org

IN

IUPUI, Evansville Vanderburgh School District

Jim Grim

jagrim@iupui.edu

MD

Maryland Out of School Time Network, Family League of Baltimore

Julia Baez

JBaez@familyleague.org

MI

Kent School Services Network

Carol Paine McGovern

carolpainemcgovern@kentssn.org

MN

Education Minnesota, Brooklyn Center Community Schools

Patrice Howard

phoward@brookcntr.k12.mn.us

NJ

Montclair State University, Rutgers University

Bryan Murdock

murdockb@mail.montclair.edu

NM

ABC Community Schools Partnership

Jose Munoz

jamunoz@bernco.gov

NY

Children's Aid Society, SUNY Binghamton, Network for Youth Success

Terry Kim

tkim@childrensaidsociety.org

OK

Center for Community School Strategies

Paige Whalen

pwhalen@ccrctulsa.org

Pacific Northwest (OR, WA)

Vancouver Public Schools, SUN Schools

Tamara Shoup

Tamara.Shoup@vansd.org

PA

PA Department of Education, United Way of Lehigh Valley, Philadelphia Office of the Mayor, University of Pennsylvania Netter Center

Pam Smith

pammsmi@pa.gov

TN

Metro Nashville Public Schools

Alison McArthur

Alison.McArthur@mnps.org

TX

AFT Texas, Austin Voices for Education and Youth

Dena Donaldson

ddonaldson@texasaft.org

WI

Milwaukee Education Association, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, United Way of Greater Milwaukee

Ryan Hurley

rhurley@unitedwaygmwc.org

 

4301 Connecticut Avenue, NW  |  Suite 100  |  Washington, DC 20008-2304   |   Tel. 202.822.8405 X111  |  Fax 202.872.4050  |  Email ccs@iel.org
©2017 Coalition for Community Schools at the Institute for Educational Leadership. All Rights Reserved.
About Community Schools   |    Policy   |    Results   |    Resources   |    Your Leadership Role   |    Media   |    About Us   |    Search   |    National Forums   |    Privacy Policy   |    Site Map