Scaling Up Guide Community Schools FAQs - Answers to your questions Coalition Publications - Inner Pages Use data to tell your community school story!

Community Schools Leadership Awards 2014

2014 Community Schools Leadership Awards

The Coalition for Community Schools is proud to present an inaugural set of awards recognizing excellence in leadership. The list of the leadership award categories are: 

Watch the award ceremony for the 2014 Community Schools Leadership Awards at the Community Schools National Forum. Click on playlist at the top left of the video below or click here for all videos of the awards ceremony.

Click here to view full profiles for the Leadership Awardees.

Joy Dryfoos Community Schools Lifetime Achivement Award

Named after Joy Dryfoos, a tireless advocate for community schools, the award goes to the individual who has made significant contributions to the growth of the community school field.

Jane Quinn
Children’s Aid Society Vice President for Community Schools and Director of the National Center for Community Schools

Jane has been a vocal leader for community schools. Under Jane’s leadership the National Center for Community Schools at the Children’s Aid Society has become a vital national organization dedicated to enhancing the capacity of community schools in local communities. Many local initiatives can trace the foundational elements of their local strategy to The Children’s Aid Society, Jane, and her National Center team. Jane has written widely about community schools and has served the community schools movement in multiple leadership roles. Jane is a mentor, a connector, and a leader. She is a modern-day pillar of the community school movement. View full profile here.

National Partner Award

For the national partner that has made significant contributions to the work of the Coalition and toward growing the field.

American Federation of Teachers

The American Federation of Teachers (AFT) has been an exemplary Coalition partner. The AFT was an early Coalition partner and its leaders have always made important contributions to the growth of community schools. AFT’s community school efforts dramatically accelerated when President Randi Weingarten laid out a vision for community schools in her acceptance speech. Since then, the AFT has been a vocal advocate and has raised the visibility of community schools considerably while making them a core part of their education reform strategy. View full profile here.

Superintendent Leadership Award

For the superintendent who championed the community school strategy and led the district in the alignment and support of community schools. 

Dr. Ramona Bishop
Superintendent, Vallejo City Unified School District (Vallejo, California)

Dr. Ramona Bishop was chosen to lead Vallejo City Unified in April 2011. The district was in state receivership and the graduation rate was only 50%. Dr. Bishop laid out a vision for a full service community school district that focused on the 'whole child.' Dr. Bishop led the district in its development of an aggressive set of goals with a particular focus on social justice, student engagement, and support for all students, especially those who have been historically underserved. Dr. Bishop is moving with urgency to transform the district and change lives. This coming school year all Vallejo schools will be community schools. 
View full profile here.

The Superintendent Leadership Award is co-sponsored by our partners at AASA, the School Superintendents Association.

Community Schools Initiative Leadership Award

For the individual(s) who have pushed their initiatives to new heights over the past two years. Leaders also have made important contributions to their peers and taken on leadership roles within the Coalition.

Jose Munoz
Executive Director, ABC Community School Partnership (Albuquerque, New Mexico)

Warmly described by his colleagues as "Mr. Community Schools," Jose has been working tirelessly to scale up community schools in Albuquerque through a unique partnership between Albuquerque Public Schools, the City of Albuquerque, Bernalillo County, the Albuquerque Business & Education Compact, and the United Way of Central New Mexico. Jose helped advocate for the Community Schools Act in the New Mexico Legislature, has secured over $1.75 million since 2012 to support the development of 10 community schools within Bernalillo County with plans for more. Under Jose’s leadership, there is a bright future for community schools in the West! View full profile here.

Julia Baez
Senior Director of Education Initiatives, Family League of Baltimore, Baltimore Community Schools (Baltimore City, Maryland)

Julia has led a resurgence of community schools in Baltimore. She is responsible for the organization’s Community & School Engagement Strategy which includes the development of 43 Baltimore community schools serving over 19,000 students and involving dozens of partners. Julia works closely with the school district on aligning the community school strategy and is partnering with Towson University to develop a Community School Leadership Certification Program for site coordinators. Julia exemplifies what it means to dream big, support peers, and make real change in local communities. View full profile here.

4301 Connecticut Avenue, NW  |  Suite 100  |  Washington, DC 20008-2304   |   Tel. 202.822.8405 X111  |  Fax 202.872.4050  |  Email
©2020 Coalition for Community Schools at the Institute for Educational Leadership. All Rights Reserved.
About Community Schools   |    Policy   |    Results   |    Resources   |    Your Leadership Role   |    Media   |    About Us   |    Search   |    National Forums   |    Privacy Policy   |    Site Map